Question of the Week- March 22

22 03 2010

If you are a Facebook friend of mine, you might have seen me have a status or two about the word ‘hater.’ I don’t like it. Well, it’s not the word itself that I have a problem with, per se. It’s just that, to me, people over and misuse it.

For instance, if I don’t like Rhianna’s hair, that doesn’t make me a hater- that just means I don’t care for her hairstyle. Period.

My e-friend, LaKesha, wrote a post about this on her blog last week (check it out here). The whole post was great, but I love the advice she gives at the end:

“Stop running around talking about your haters this and your haters that…the time YOU spend worrying about them could be time spent doing something more productive in your own life.”

I say all that to ask the question(s) of the week:

How do you feel about the word ‘hater?’

What does ‘hater’ mean?

Do you think people who always talk about ‘their’ haters really have haters?

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 03 2010
Trudy

The words “hater” “friend” and “love” are constantly misused and overused. There are times when hater is correctly uses and times (most of the time) when it is not. I actually wrote a lengthy post about it on m blog.

Good post, thanks for sharing.

23 03 2010
Toni

I agree with Trudy. Those three words are overused. I use the word hater to indicate a jealous person. There are certain things that can clue you in to jealousy. Instead of offering constructive criticism haters try to bring you down, complain and pick on everything about you. However, usually the main people talking about they have haters are not that important. Awesomely Luvie wrote a post last week about how Jesus had haters and regular people have side-eye starers.

24 03 2010
Jamie Fleming

@Trudy- I agree; those words are overused. I’m going to have to check out your post.

@Toni- That’s how I use the word hater, too. But like you, I feel that most people who use it don’t really have haters. I think a lot of people use it to make themselves feel important and to appear important to others.

Leave a Reply

