Do you have a five-year plan?

17 03 2010
5 year plan

What's your five-year plan?

As you might know, I’m a firm believer in having goals and plans for your future. One of my mottos? “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.” Now, I know life sometimes have other plans for us, but I still think planning is essential because it gives you something to reach for and lets you know how you’re progressing.

A couple of weeks ago, I was reading the forums on nappturality.com, and I came across a thread called, “What is your five year plan?”, and, of course, it got me thinking. Where do I see myself in five years? The questions the poster asked were:

Where do you see yourself in five years? When you close your eyes, what do you see? What have you achieved career-wise, spirtually and/or personally? How have you evolved as a person? How old are you now? What are you doing now to contribute to your five-year plan?

Let’s see…

How old am I now?

I’m 23, so I’ll be 28 in five years.

When I close my eyes, I see myself:

Happy, Successful, Loved, Loving (to name a few.)

What have I achieved career-wise, spiritually and/or personally? Some things I’ve achieved/how have I evolved:

  • I have a successful career as a copywriter & blogger
  • My DH (dear hubby) and I are financially stable
  • DH and I have a loving marriage (maybe a kid???)
  • I’ve started on my first book
  • I’m healthy, toned and in shape
  • I’m living outside of GA
  • My locs are semi-long (I don’t want them too long : )
  • I’m more spiritual (able to meditate for longer periods of time, I stay in the present, etc.)
  • I’m more patient, flexible, bold and cofident

What am I doing now to contribute to my five-year plan?

  • I work to have the career I want
  • I continuously work on my relationship with Chris
  • I try to motivate myself to workout a few days a week consistently (hey, it’s a struggle)
  • I try to take care of my hair more (that’s a struggle, too)
  • I attempt to meditate in the morning before I get out of bed
  • I try to go with the flow and be present wherever I am

Do you have a five-year plan (formal or informal?) Feel free to share (if you want) or if you’ve written a blog post about it, share the link!

Photo from: budgettourplanner.blogspot.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

