Bodacious Bloggers: Natica S.

3 03 2010

Bodacious Bloggers is a series featuring some awesome bloggers I think you should check out.

Blog Title: Pure Gold Lady

How long have you been blogging?

I’ve been blogging on and off for several years, but I started the Pure Gold Lady blog in September of 2009.

What is your blog about?

My blog is about my journey through life after a major breakup. The breakup was very unsettling for me, and I made the decision soon afterward that I was not going to have a meltdown or sink into depression. I chose to take the circumstance as an opportunity to seriously focus on personal growth. The journey has not been easy, and I chronicle my development in all areas of my life. I also write about motivation and inspiration.

The name of my blog was inspired by an inspirational video I saw where– to paraphrase– the speaker mentioned that after our struggles, we come out as pure gold.

Why did you start your blog?

I have had the habit of writing to myself since I was young, and I felt that there were people who could relate to my story. When I began the blog, I did not announce it to anyone I know. It was liberating in the same way that speaking to a therapist– who is a complete stranger– is liberating. Often, I write things that I cannot say aloud. I believe that I should be my own best friend, and in writing, I am allowing myself to say what I need to say. When I write on motivation and inspiration, I write what I think a best friend would say to a friend.

At the end of the day, this blog is my way of setting the bar high for myself. I have declared to the universe that I will grow, and this is one way of holding myself accountable.

How do you decide what to write about?

I don’t have a formal process for deciding on topics. In general, I always carry an “ideas” notebook in which I write down thoughts and ideas that cross my mind. Once I began the Pure Gold Lady blog, it made sense for some of these thoughts to be further developed into posts. If I think my readers would appreciate a certain topic, then I write about it. For me, the problem is not the topics but the timing. I have several posts written or drafted, but I am still working through the emotions behind them. Many will never see the light of day. For others, I let them sit, and [I] reflect on them from time to time before posting.

What is your favorite post that you’ve written so far?

My favorite post is the “Thank You” post I wrote in January thanking several people who have helped me on my journey.

I have recently decided to write a gratitude post weekly because gratitude is so important  in shaping perspective.

What do you want readers to take away from your blog after reading it?

I hope my readers take away that no matter what happens to us in life, we have a choice when it comes to our reaction. It is never too late to change, and it is never too late to learn. No matter how terrible things may seem, tomorrow (even if it is a distant tomorrow) is a better day. It is clear that I am not perfect, and I struggle with the same battles people have in their own lives. If my readers gain insight into their own lives and/or are inspired to make changes in their own lives, then I am thrilled!

Tips for people wanting to start a blog:

Make sure you really enjoy writing, and do it for yourself. I look forward to working on my blog because I love to write. If your blog has a purpose, the experience can be very fulfilling.

Commit and just do it!

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 03 2010
puregoldlady

Thanks again, Jamie for featuring me on your blog 🙂

5 03 2010
Jamie Fleming

You’re welcome, dear! : )

17 03 2010
LaKesha Womack

I think Natica’s blog feels like a journey that are on with her and she shows you that you can have some bad days but the good days are right around the corner.

20 03 2010
puregoldlady

Awww, thanks, Lakesha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

