Bodacious Bloggers: LaKesha Womack

18 01 2010

What is your blog about?

I am a daily blogger, so I write about a different topic each day. They range from profiles of people that I know to living young and fabulous to business advice for entrepreneurs. My most popular is the Sunday Christian and Cool segment because I write about my journey trying to live that ever so elusive Christian walk while facing the reality of being a part of the secular world. A lot of people proclaim that they are a Christian but rarely discuss the struggles that come with that. I am not ashamed to admit that I stumble and fall sometimes, but I also get up and keep it moving.

Why did you start your blog?

The writing bug bit me when I began contributing to a local newspaper as a featured writer. I enjoyed that experience and wanted to share my expressions with a larger audience. I didn’t imagine it would be as well received as it has been, but it has been great because I have connected with some amazing people, most of them are also bloggers.

How do you decide what to write about?

I write about my experiences and thoughts. I joke that my blog is my therapy because it keeps me from bottling things up. I try to find the life lessons in my experiences and channel them into a post that will hopefully help someone else that may be going through something similar or to prevent them from making a mistake that I may have made. My Monday “Business Dollars and Sense” posts are presentations that I give to local Chambers of Commerce in my day job as a small business consultant.

What is your favorite post that you’ve written?

My favorite post so far has been “The Lost Art of Dating” from Thursday’s Relationship 101. It is my favorite because it was on my mind for a while, and I was finally able to organize my thoughts into a post that received quite a bit of dialogue on my site and other sites. I enjoy writing posts that resonates with readers.

What do you want your readers to take away after reading?

After reading my blog, I hope the reader will feel a connection with me. I also hope they will feel that they are not alone in their daily struggles, and hopefully they will come back on a regular basis to learn some life lessons for their personal and professional development.

Tips for people wanting to start a blog:

My number one tip is to always proofread your posts. It is not uncommon to have one or two typos. It is hard to self-edit because when you know what it is you’re supposed to say, you read it as it should be, but I cringe when I see blogs that are filled with typos. In my opinion, it destroys the writer’s credibility. Also, add pictures to make the post look more attractive. You can find clip art online that fits any topic. Finally, keep it short. I recommend between 300-500 words at the most. After that, you start to lose your audience. If you notice your topic getting a little windy, edit your content or divide it into series.

You can check out LaKesha’s blog here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 01 2010
LaKesha Womack

Thanks so much for the feature. You have an awesome site… keep up the great work!

12 03 2010
Happy 101 Award «

[…] LaKesha for this fabulous award! LaKesha is an awesome woman and blogger (hey, she’s even a Bodacious Blogger), and I’m honored that she thought of […]

Leave a Reply

