Question of the Week- January 3

3 01 2010

Hola chicas! Hope everyone has had a good new year weekend. This past weekend, I was doing a lot of reading on forums, especially on Nappturality (good stuff, folks). Anywho, I was reading a thread about the woman who was looking for a guy she would want to marry in 52 weeks last year (you can check her out at www.52weekstofindhim.com– by the way, she didn’t find him). Many of the women were saying that you can’t put a timeline on getting married/finding a husband, and some were saying it’s a good idea- if you want to be married by a certain age.

First, let me say, I don’t think a woman should necessarily want a husband. If you do, cool; if not, that’s cool, too.  But, back to the topic at hand- on one hand, I can see why some would say you can’t put a time on finding love because usually, it happens when it happens and usually when you least expect it. On the other hand, I think if you want to get married by a certain age, then you should work towards it. What I mean is this: let’s say you want to get married by 30. I don’t think you should just sit back and wait on your knight-in-shining-armour (or what have you) to come sweep you off your feet. You have to be proactive- go on dates, show your interest in the fellas, etc. But that’s just me… so, the question is:

Do you think it’s realistic for a person to put a time limit on finding a spouse/love?

As usual, I’d love to hear what you all think!

P.S.- Shouts out to Autumn (aka Girl in My Own World) for the link to creating fabulous signatures. Get yours here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 01 2010
Toni

In the words of the Supremes, “You can’t hurry love.” Putting a timeline on marraige is just setting yourself up for disappointment. The only way you should put a timeline on getting married is if you’re already engaged. God has a plan for everyone’s life, including when you’re going to get married.

I’ve noticed some of my friends keep hinting the M word to their boyfriends and have put timelines of an engagement. Forcing a marriage is even worse. My single friends and I are more like when it happens, it happens. Then again none of us really date. If I ever start back dating, it will be for fun, not for soley finding a husband.

9 01 2010
Donica

I agree with Toni. I just think you have no idea what the Universe is doing, and when opportunities are going to arise. As much as we are looking for our “soul mates”, we have to remember they are looking for us too! Who knows where they are in the journey!

Leave a Reply

