Bodacious Bloggers: Luvvie

7 12 2009
 

Luvvie

Blog Titles:

Awesomely Luvvie and Luuv Divine (click on titles to view).

What are your blogs about?

I’m a blog-a-holic, so I have two blogs. Awesomely Luvvie is my main blog, and it’s a humor blog where I roast and rant about whatever my random heart desires. It ranges from my random life adventures to the latest celebrity that is out of line to reviews of award shows. Humor, all day long.

Luvv Divine is my other blog, which is more personal. It’s my writing that isn’t behind the humor shroud.

Why did you start your blogs?

I started Awesomely Luvvie three years after graduating college because I just wanted a space for my random thoughts. I had a blog before it, on Xanga, for three years, too. But I felt like I outgrew Xanga, so I moved to Blogspot. At first, it was called something cheesy like Luvvie’s Queendom, then Luvvie’s Random Rants. I wrote with no intent in mind or niche. Only thing I knew I wasn’t going to write about was personal issues. But overall, I put down my stream of consciousness, a bit more coherernt of course. But as I started to write more and more, people found it humourous. So, I kind of tripped and fell into my humor niche.

I actually just launched Luvv Divine a couple of months ago. I did it because I wanted a space where I didn’t feel the need to be funny, and I could get a little bit more personal. I was feeling the itch of writing more straight-laced pieces, so it was the scratch for it.

How do you decide to write about?

For AweLuv, I decide on what to write about based on whatever is going on in pop culture or anything humourous going on in my life. I post three times a week and oftentimes, I don’t know what my next post will be about until I sit down to compose it. Lately, I get topics from conversations I have on Twitter. There are even times when I tweet with the intent of it being my post outline.

What are your favorite posts that you’ve written?

This is a toughie. I’ve written close to 300 posts on AweLuv, and it’s hard figuring out THE ONE that is my favorite. That’s like having Beyonce pick out her favorite onesie. *sigh* Ok, if I HAVE to choose, I’d say my favorite post is the one I wrote about being upset that Zane and Sister Souljah got money off writing subpar books. So, I decided that I was gonna write a Gospel Erotica (oxymoron, I know) called Mama, I Wanna Freak but I’on Want God to Frown. I even got one of my graphic design friends to design a cover for me. This post still cracks ME up, and is the #3 most commented on post of mine.                    

 On Luvv Divine, my favorite post is one I wrote called The Surface Blogger, which is probably the most personal post I’ve written publicly in the past three years and explains a lot about my approach to blogging in general.

What do you want your readers to take away from your blog after reading?                     

When my readers check out AweLuv, I want them to walk away with a mood that’s slightly elevated from when they started. I hope they cackle inappropriately at my foolishness a couple of times too, especially when at work or in a public space where people end up side-eyeing them.

When folks read LuvvDivine, I want them to feel like they see a glimpse of the person behind the humor.

Tips for those wanting to start a blog:

I have too many tips for those wanting to start a blog. I actually did a Blogging 101 series on my blog (AweLuv) for that very reason. But if I had three tips, they’d be [to] write (regularly), market (yourself and your blog so you can have an audience) and comment (on other blogs and in response to those who leave you comments).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

