Successful Sistas: Cassandra Stewart

3 12 2009

Successful Sistas is an interview series featuring successful women pursuing their dream careers.

 

Job Title: CEO of Rosalyn Scent (rosalynsbathandbody.com)

Job Description: I’m the creator of all my products, I make sure my inventory is stocked; I do everything for Rosalyn Scent until the day comes when I hire employees.

Why did you decide to pursue this field? I was tired of having to answer to someone else and going through stressful times at work. I felt like I was wasting my time and energy on a job I wasn’t happy about.

What do you love most about your job? I absolutely love creating fragrances and making my own products. I love it when my customers send me wonderful emails about my products.

What is the most stressful aspect of your job? My job can be very stressful when my suppliers don’t have what I need at the time, and I have to go out and search for it until that item becomes available. I [also] hate when I schedule a pick up time for my carrier, and he/she doesn’t come on time.

What is the most rewarding aspect of your job? The most rewarding aspect of my job is I choose my own hours and days to work. I make sure that I have time to spend with the kids.

What is the craziest thing that’s happened at work? The craziest thing that ever happened is when my 4-year-old tried to put cereal in my butters. I’m glad I caught him just in time, [but] he said he was helping me.

Describe a typical day at work for you: I check my emails, schedule package pick-ups, make phone calls, and I go out and purchase gifts to add with my customers’ orders.

What advice or tips would you give someone who wants to do what you do? I would say keep an open mind, figure out how you want to set up your business, do research on the ingredients you want to put in your products, make samples of your products and pass them out to friends and co-workers.

Finish this sentence: This career is for you if ____: You have patience, funds to start your own business (start small and move up gradually) and you want to spend more time with your family.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 12 2009
Taketha Norman

I truely admire this woman she makes great products and has wonderful customer service and I see bigger and better things for her in the future with her business..Thanks

5 12 2009
lisa

I am very proud of my girl

5 12 2009
Latina White-Spears

I wish you continued success!!

12 12 2009
Cassandra

I thank everyone that left a comment. Its well appreciated!

Leave a Reply

