Rock Bottom: The gospel play

24 11 2009

Stefanie Gunter-Leverette

If you don’t have any plans this Saturday or Sunday evening, and you’re in the northeast Georgia area (or just want to visit), come out see Stefanie Gunter-Leverette’s new gospel play, Rock Bottom: you won’t know God is all you need until he is all you got!.

The play is based on her life and her struggles of climbing the ladder of success and wrongly focusing on materialistic things.

“The world tries to tell us that if we have a job, house, cars that we’re successful,” she says, “But God tells us we’re already successful. I think everyone needs to know that and that’s what I had to learn.”

At one point, Stefanie realized all she had was her relationship with God, and that’s how the play was born.

“When I really hit rock bottom, I realized that I was looking at the wrong things to make me happy,” she says. “When I really fell to my lowest, all I could think about was God, and that changed my life.”

Rock Bottom takes place in a homeless shelter, and the four main characters symbolize things Stefanie herself has gone through; and like her, they lost everything they had. The Christian shelter workers try to convince the homeless that the only way to come up is by surrenduring to God.

Stefanie had to learn this lesson as well while planning for Rock Bottom.

“I had $0 in my pocket and a list of all these things I had to get,” she says. “I was like, ‘Ok, God, I’m not going to look at what I don’t have. You’ll open doors for me. You have to.'”

She admits that quitting crossed her mind, but soon remembered that the production isn’t about her.

“It’s about that one person that might see that story and say, ‘You know what God? I understand.'”

On one occassion, she couldn’t find a building, a stage and many other items needed, but God was behind the scenes putting it all together.

“Every time I said ‘God, this is what I need’, immediately or the next day, it would show up,” Stefanie says. “I know it was God because I believed.”

Stefanie believes that many have hit rock bottom because of  the struggling economy and other obstacles. Therefore, she hopes to encourage those having a difficult time now and those who will in the future. She also wants people to realize where true joy comes from.

“Material things don’t make me who I am; that is not where my happiness comes from,” she says. “It comes from a relationship with God; you have to put him first [and know] he will never leave you or forsake you no matter what kind of circumstances you face.”

Because regardless our situation, he will be there for us, Stefanie says.

“No matter what we face, if we just believe God and call forth the power within us, it is going to come to pass.”

Rock Bottom is showing at Hart Co. Recreation Department (200 Clay St.) at 6 P.M. on Saturday, Nov. 28 and Sunday, Nov. 29. Tickets are $10 in advance and $12 at the door. Proceeds will go to the following: St. Mary’s CME, M.A.P.S. Mentoring and The Kreative Arts Program. The play is written and produced by Stefanie’s company, Before and After Productions.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

