Napptural Beauties: Cheris Courtney

9 11 2009

Napptural Beauties features gorgeous beauties who rock their hair naturally.

How long have you been natural?

I’ve been natural for about two years and three months.

Why did you decide to go natural?

I had always admired women who wore their hair naturally. I believe I was a little envious of them because I wanted to be natural also but was afraid for the typical reasons- being concerned about what others would think, didn’t know how to take care of it, would I look bad, etc., etc.

How long did you transition?

My plan was to transition with braids until I was comfortable with the length of natural hair, then cut, but I couldn’t wait. It was driving me nuts, so I decided to just BC (big chop). I had a friend’s mother (who was a beautician) initially cut all my relaxed ends off. It was about seven to nine inches. She was scared to cut so much hair off at once; I thought it was funny. But when she was done, I loved it. I had about two inches of hair, maybe. Then the following week, I went to a natural hair salon and had a natural hair stylist clean it up. So, I guess to answer your question, my attempt at transitioning lasted about two months, lol.

What is your favorite hairstyle?

Right now, it’s the twist-out.

Do you have any hair inspirations? And if so, who?

Ooh, that’s a little difficult for me cause I have so many. Uh, let’s see…Rachel True, Measha Brueggergosman (Canadian opera singer), Ayo, Laura Izibor, Jill Scott, Jasika Nicole (the show Fringe), Yaya da Costa and many more.

What is the best thing about being natural to you?

When my hair was shorter, it used to be the fact that I could easily do a wash-n-go. Now, it’s simply that it’s free of chemicals and that I feel the freedom to play with it. What can I say? I’m still very much in love with my natural hair.

Any tips for transitioners and those new to natural?

Hands down, research and patience are your best friends. Keep in mind that every woman has “bad” hair days when your hair is absolutely gonna do whatever it wants. Don’t give up. Take it with a grain of salt and keep on moving. Also, don’t be afraid to try different things. That’s the only way you’ll learn what your hair needs.

Jane Carter twist-out, November

Twist-Out

Jane Carter sexy pic, Nov 09- modified

The sexy twist out

 

Are you a Napptural Beauty and want to be featured? Email me: forcoloredgurls [at] gmail [dot] com.

Want to get updates on new posts? Subscribe today; it’s free!

——

Jamie

mochawriter.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

