Tyler Perry vs Spike Lee

26 10 2009

If you haven’t heard, on 60 Minutes, Tyler Perry said he was “insulted” and “pissed off” by Spike Lee’s criticism of his shows and movies. Spike recently called Perry’s characters examples of “coonery” and “buffoonery”

“I would love to read that [criticism] to my fan base,” Perry told 60 Minutes correspondent Byron Pitts. “All these characters of mine are bait, bait to get people talking about God, love, family, and faith.”

“That pisses me off. It is so insulting,” said Perry, who also spoke movingly about the childhood beatings he said he and his mother suffered at the hands of his father.

I’d love to know your thoughts…

Source: www.ew.com

——

Jamie

mochawriter.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 11 2009
Wondering in Grand Rapids

I’ll probably get blasted for this.

I used to love Tyler’s plays. However, the more material I see him produce the more I am recognizing that he is stagnant in his growth and development as a filmmaker and a writer. There are other ways to get individuals talking about God, family, and faith-it doesn’t take the caricature that MaDea has become. She served her purpose-it’s time to retire her and mature in his character writing.

Many of his movies have plot holes you can drive a fleet of Peterbilts through. The writing tends to be disjointed, the acting overdone and outlandish, and it does, to a certain extent, rise to the level of coonery and buffonery.

2 11 2009
Jamie Fleming

Thanks for your comment, and I totally agree with you. Though I’ve never been a huge fan of his, I have seen enough of his work to get what you’re saying.

Leave a Reply

