Successful Sistas: Tawana Necole

18 09 2009

Successful Sistas is an interview series featuring successful women pursuing their dream careers.

Corporate chic 2Job Title: CEO of Corporate Chics, LLC and Sisters Striving for Excellence, Inc. (tawananecole.info, corporatechics.net, sistersstrivingforexcellence.org)

Job Description: Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the company and the organization; it involves overseeing the establishments of a yearly agenda, ensures initiaitives are executed and determines executive decisions in cases where it is deemed necessary and in the best interest of the company and organization.

Why did you decide to pursue this field? I am a natural born leader (literally). I am the first-born with two younger sisters, so leading and helping others are two things that I have always done. It comes naturally, and it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do. I am a strong advocate for utilizing your gifts and talents and that, in turn, will become your resource.

I decided to pursue something that makes me happy and allows me to be me. I am filled with peace, and I don’t stress because I know that I am in the will of God for my life.

What do you love most about your job? I love being my own boss! I don’t take myself too seriously and that helps with building relationships and making great connections. I also don’t have to deal with the politics of working in a corporate arena. I set my own hours, and I work when I am able to. I don’t have to worry about being late or missing a day if my child is sick. I am not “scheduled” to work certain hours; I am not a threat to anyone- my work and credentials speak for who I am. I don’t have to conform to the culture of a company and how it’s ran, and the list goes on and on.

What is the most stressful aspect of your job? The “balancing act” is the most stressful. Coporate Chics is a new company and brand, therefore marketing it properly is vital and is the only way to become successful. However, I am a mother to a three-month-old and a three-year-old, so considering my kids and providing them with the quality time needed is sometimes hectic. But through great organizational skills,  I am beginning to master Multi-tasking (that’s right, with a capital M!)

What is the most rewarding aspect of your job? Being able to connect a woman with someone who possibly could help with her business or career brings me so much joy. Helping others start a business or mentoring a young female by providing direction and focus on her vision is not only rewarding, I feel like it is my purpose and part of my destiny. Being of service to others and helping them focus their dreams and actually coaching them into making it a reality ensures success, and everyone benefits. I never want to climb the ladder alone.

What is the craziest thing that’s happened at work? Any obstacle or barrier is always seen as an opportunity to grow. A few weeks ago, I received an email from someone asking for some assistance with self-esteem. Well, when I contacted this anonymous person, he or she was interested knowing about some type of vintage corset. The person began to explain that he/she had surgery to enhance his/her breast size and needed it because his/her body was really not portioned properly. Being a nanny as well as other off-the-wall topics came up; however, I politely explained the type of business services I provide and got off the phone shaking my head! It was scary and crazy, but I was professional and that helped me overcome and not say the wrong thing.

Describe a typical day at work for you. A typical day involves responding to emails or emailing potential prospects or sponsors, updating material for social media networks, conference calls, planning and executing certain projects, assisting individuals in my network, updating both websites, tweeting, blogging and producing material for marketing the brand or the nonprofit organization.

What advice or tips would you give someone who wants to do what you do? Being focused, determined and ambitious is extremely important. You can not allow anything to stop you from pursuing your goals. Believe that no matter what happens or how things look, you must strive to make your dreams a reality. You will be told no (at first) more than you are told yes, but if you keep knocking on doors, you will eventually receive that one yes. And that one ‘yes’ will trump all of the people that didn’t believe in you or told you no.

Finish this sentence: This career is for you if: you have faith

——

Jamie

mochawriter.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

