Goals 2.0

15 09 2009

The other day I decided I needed to look at and possibly rework the goals I made for myself earlier this year. I’m sure you’ve heard (or maybe you haven’t) that goals should be S.M.A.R.T.- Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely. My goals were specific, attainable, realistic and timely, for the most part, but they weren’t really measurable- I couldn’t really tell how far along I’d gotten, and I didn’t really have a deadline. So, I changed them and added objectives I could actually measure. Instead of saying outline my ebook, I now have a deadline of October 31 for the complete outline.

How can you tell if your goal is S.M.A.R.T.?

Specific: Answer the six ‘Ws’- Who’s involved?; What do you want to achieve; Where (identify location); When (establish a time frame); Which (determine requirements and constraints); and Why (particular reasons, purpose or benefits of achieving the goal)

Measurable: Make concrete criteria for gauging progress toward your goal. This helps you stay focused, reach end dates you’ve set and feel a sense of achievement. You can ask yourself the following to determine if your goal is measurable: How much? How many? How will I know when it is accomplished?

Attainable: You can reach almost any goal- if you plan wisely and create a time frame that lets you complete your objectives. Even if your goal doesn’t seem reachable at first, it will eventually become that way because you will grow into it.

Realistic: A goal is realistic when it signifies an objective that you are willing and able to work toward. It’s also important to remember that you are the only one who can choose how high your goal should be and if it’s realistic. How do you know if it’s practical? If you’ve previously achieved something similar or by asking yourself what conditions you would need to achieve your goal.

Timely: As I have found out, if your goals don’t have a time frame attached to it, there’s no sense of urgency, meaning there’s no telling when (or if) you’ll get it done. By placing it in a timeframe, you put your unconscious mind to work and starteded on the goal.

Source: www.topachievement.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

