It’s September Already!

1 09 2009

ist2_7572431-happy-woman-inspirational

It’s the first of the month, so ya’ll know what time it is. First, let me say Happy 25th Anniversary to my wonderful parents. In this day and age, that’s a looooong time to be with one person.

Anyway, I don’t know why, I’m really excited about September’s potential. I guess it’s all the school-ness in the air. Since I started going to school way back in ’91 (I think), I’d been excited about back to school. August/September is when school starts and a new season starts this month, so it’s kind of a good time for beginnings, overhauls and whatnot. Another clean slate.

Now, on to intentions and such. Last month was…ok. I’ve been talking to potential clients, but nothing is set in stone. (yet, but it’s coming!) I didn’t send all the queries I should have, but I did send one to a national publication. I also brainstormed and developed ideas, networked & participated in forums, mailed biz postcards to local businesses, applied for several writing  jobs,  and I wrote one Mahogany Butterfly column (among other things).

This month, my primary intentions are:

  •  To make all the money I need!
  • To get all my queries accepted by a magazine and/or website!
  • To obtain clients for Mocha Writer!
  • To make fcg as fabulous as possible!
  • To have a solid outline for my ebook!

My game plan is to:

  • Write 2 columns for my column on Mahogany Butterfly
  • Write and Send at least three queries per week (that’s 12-15 this month- maybe more)
  • Get accepted into the national publication (good vibes = )
  • Spend 2-3 hours a week: brainstorming & developing query-able ideas; researching new markets & writers’ guidelines; and sending LOIs to publications
  • Spend at least one hour a day networking and connecting (especially with other writers and freelancers)
  • Research ways to promote and promote biz and blog
  • Research for and outline ebook
  • Look for writing jobs daily and apply on the same day
  • Contact at least eight businesses a week
  • Continue to develop marketing plans
  • Set up a PO box

My personal intentions include:

  • Work out 3-4 days a week
  • Meditate twice a day
  • Get more participants for G.I.R.L.
  • Do lots of fun things!

That is all…send me good vibes and prayers! lol

Photo from: istockphoto.com

——

Jamie

mochawriter.com

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 09 2009
nicolelavonne

hey there! what are your ebook aspirations and/or successes? what are your books about? i too am trying to venture into the ebook world — epistolary and short story memoir specifically. i am just trying to get best practices, inspiration, ideas, support in fellow writers…you name it!

nicolelavonne (new to twitter; as in nicolesallwrite the blog; nicolelavonnesmith.com)

2 09 2009
Jamie Fleming

Hi! I want to write an ebook about successful women giving advice to other women. This is my first go at it, so I don’t know too much about writing them, either. I’ll look you up on Twitter!

3 09 2009
Autumn

I will pray that you reach your goals! I already believe that you will! 🙂 I agree with the who fall/schoolness logic. I feel extra motivated now that the fall is coming around. But then again, you know it is my season so that could play a part too. lol. :oP

3 09 2009
Autumn

Ummm, that p was the end of my sticking out my tongue face… in case you were wondering. One day I will get the hang of these smiley faces!

Leave a Reply

