Reflections

29 08 2009

This past week has been soooo crazy. My phone was stolen last Saturday, and my laptop is dead, and I can’t charge it. For the most part I’ve remained positive, but I have had my down days. Anywho, I was rewriting an article I have due tomorrow about finding one’s dream career, and one of my interviewees mentioned that I find to be true for me right now.

She said that after she graduated from college, a lot of her friends went on to get jobs and whatnot, and she was slaving away, working for free because she was an aspiring journalist. Now she’s an editor for Europe’s largest magazine for women of color. But I can kind of relate to her when she was just starting out. It seems like a lot of my classmates have jobs and stability; one of my best friends is even looking for her first home!

Anyway, I was thinking about it and trying to remind myself that I shouldn’t compare myself to anyone. I mean, it’s difficult at times because I see/hear people my age being what I call stable and successful. Then I think, this is the path I chose to take. My passion and purpose is not having a lucrative job where I’m pretty much guaranteed work. However, I chose to pursue my passion of writing because in the long run, I wouldn’t have been happy doing anything else (at least that’s what I tell myself). I mean, I could’ve chose that path and been financially stable, but at the end of the day, would I have been satisfied?

I’m just venting, and I’m trying to remind myself (and maybe you, too) not to compare myself to anyone. I have to follow my own path, do my own thinking and keep pursuing my passion and dreams. Because I promise you, I’m going to get there. See you at the top!

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 08 2009
Laqueena

Love it! I have to constantly remind myslef as well as other people to not compare me to anybody else. Keep up ya hard work girl! We’re going to reach our ‘Happiness and Success’

1 09 2009
Jamie Fleming

We definitely are, Laqueena! See you at the top! = )

30 08 2009
autumn

I know girl! I feel you! I have totally been there and still get there lots of times, but you have to realize that anyone can get a gig… well nowadays even that is hard, but talk to some of these people in 10-15 years and see if they are happy. I work in corporate America. It is not all that it is cracked up to be. You will always be working to get to the top and what happens if the bottom falls out. It is almost like you sold your soul out to a corporation. For some that is cool, but not for girls like us! God gives us all a purpose and a passion that is in our DNA and this girl, is yours. Success will come, but it is all about the right timing. It is great that your friend is getting a house, but girl, I would like a mansion and it is not even about all that, it is about being happy with what you are doing. This is your gift and passion and I know that somedays it is like agh agh agh, but when the big pay off comes you will be so happy that you stuck in there with it. I will see you there because like you, I am working toward my purpose and passion too! You want it to be great girl, and you want to go down in history and have a legacy, not just a plaque and pin for working at various desks for 25 years. right? So, to whom much is given, much is required… That is the reality of it all. Your season is coming. Hang in there girl! 🙂

1 09 2009
Jamie Fleming

Thank you so much for your comment, Autumn! It means a lot and it really hit home. *tear* lol. But seriously, I love what you wrote about going down in history and having a legacy; I never thought of it like that before, but it’s true. I’d rather have that than just plaques for some company. And deep down, I do know I’ll be much happier when all this labor pays off, and I know it will! Thanks again!

1 09 2009
autumn

Your welcome girl! I did not always think about it that way either. I know that it can get pretty tough, but it will all be worth it in the end! 🙂 YAY!!!!!

Leave a Reply

