Pool kicks out the kids that might ‘change complexion’

8 07 2009

I originally saw this on Twitter…I know, I can’t believe it either. Just read it.

More than 60 campers from Northeast Philadelphia were turned away from a private swim club and left to wonder if their race was the reason.

“I heard this lady, she was like, ‘Uh, what are all these black kids doing here?’ She’s like, ‘I’m scared they might do something to my child,'” said camper Dymire Baylor.

The Creative Steps Day Camp paid more than $1900 to The Valley Swim Club. The Valley Swim Club is a private club that advertises open membership. But the campers’ first visit to the pool suggested otherwise.
 
“When the minority children got in the pool all of the Caucasian children immediately exited the pool,” Horace Gibson, parent of a day camp child, wrote in an email. “The pool attendants came and told the black children that they did not allow minorities in the club and needed the children to leave immediately.”

Read the whole article here.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 07 2009
brooklynboy2007

My partner is a black american that was raised in a very poor environment. He was given opportunities that I as a white man was taken for granted. My partner learned to swim. Learned to play golf and learned so much more. College. Masters degree. Those little steps and opportunities built a better person. My partner visits my family and is one as well. Part of my family. It is shameful that this club would deny a child of any color the opportunity to learn how to swim. When a child drowns because they were not given the chance to learn how to swim well then blood is on their hands.

Shameful

Written with the best regards

Christopher

10 07 2009
paulgrauber

I gladly will open my pool to all those children. I live in Levittown pa and if Ms. Wright cannot find a place for those children to swim they can come to my house 90 hollow road levittown pa. 19056 My pool is only 20 x 40 but we will manage. There is no doubt in my mind we still have uncivilized sloths amoung us, we must deal with it until they die off.

Leave a Reply

