Happy Birthday to Me!

14 05 2009

Today is my date of birth [shouts out to me and my parents!] and for some reason, this year kind of feels like a new beginning, almost like New Year’s. 23 is not really a ‘milestone’ age like 18, 21 or 25, but it feels like one to me.

I’m happy to see another b-day and for me, another period to grow and become the woman I want to be and know I can be.

So, I was looking for the orgins of celebrating birthdays ’cause I’m curious about it. First I came across an article about why celebrating birthdays is evil- well, they are if you are a good Christian.

One thing it says is, “It should be plain that true servants of God do not observe their birthdays and make a ‘big deal’ out of them, or hold parties to celebrate them…” [Read more here].

So I found another article on the DailyOm. It says some things I really like:

“…every year of life has brought with it new wisdom, learning experiences, and changes…all birthdays, however, are important and can be a cause for joy, if you look upon them with a reflective eye and a mind toward the blessings the future will bring

“…celebrating a birthday acknowledges the progress you have made, the blessings you have received and the goals you have achieved in the past 12 months…an entire lifetime can pass in the blink of an eye, but every new birthday is a chance to give fresh tribute to that life.” [more here].

Is that so bad?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

