She’s so self-conscious…

8 05 2009

I found out yesterday that I have pink eye. And my eye has been red and swollen since Monday; this wouldn’t be a problem if I just had to work at the shelter this weekend and didn’t have to go anywhere else. Unfortunately for me, my job requires me to also work at our affiliated thrift store, i.e., dealing with the public. If you know anything about me, this is kind of a big deal. Me, the girl who pretty much never leaves not fully dressed or without eye makeup, has to either go to work with a big, red eye or wear sunglasses. I want to wear the glasses because that way no one can see my eye and be all like, ‘OMG, what happened to your eye!!!!’ And I don’t want anyone just staring at my eye or making me feel like I should be quarantined. However, I can’t really drive well with one contact, and people will probably then look at me like, ‘Why the heck does she have on sunglasses indoors; and the sun ain’t out outside either!’…

…on the other hand, I could wear my glasses, but you can still see how terrible my eye looks. So, obviously, I’m having some minor self-image issues. I almost feel ugly with my eye like this. I mean, I know it shouldn’t be a big deal, but realistically, we’re judged by our appearances- not that it should matter what people think about my eye because it is pink eye. And aside from putting the stuff in my eye, there’s nothing I can do about it. I think I’m going to go out there and brave the stares and potential questions about my eye. I mean, it’s not like I can drive with sunglasses and one contact any- it’s super foggy outside…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

