Successful Sista: Sarah B.

9 04 2009

Successful Sistas is an interview series featuring successful women pursuing their dream careers.

Job Title: Seamstress and Crafter for Random CatGirl. [www.randomcatgirl.com]

Job Description: Making and designing accessories with an Asian flair.

Why did you decide to pursue this field? I’ve always loved making things and am an artist by trade, so it seemed natural to take my artistic side and combine it with my crafty side and start making hot purses and such in the style I love. After growing bored with my last job in insurance, I finally took the plunge and started my business. Oh, and did I mention I always wanted to be a fashion designer when I was a kid?

What do you love most about your job? I love the fact that I can start and stop my workday as I need. I have a four-year-old at home, a seven-year-old in school, and they need me just as much as my work does. It’s nice to take a moment to sing a silly song or still be able to help out with homework and not be dog tired from work.

What is the most stressful aspect of your job? When the sewing machine decides to jam for the umpteenth time. Or when the glue from my hair accessories doesn’t seem to want to dry. After that, it’s all gravy.

What is the most rewarding aspect of your job? Through my hair accessories, I’m helping spread the word and preserving a dying Japanese techniue. [You can see several on Sarah’s flickr account]. They’re flowers with each petal being made from an individual piece of fabric. It’s pretty nice that I’ve learned how to make them.

What’s the craziest thing that has happened at work? I’ve sat down for at least half an hour peeling glue from each and every one of my fingers.

Describe a typical day at work for you. I wake up at 6:20 A.M. to get my eldest daughter up and ready to head out to school. By 8:30 A.M., I’m on the computer, checking e-mails, any orders that were placed during the night and updating one of my blogs. By 11 A.M., I try to either be at the sewing machine, making petals for the flowered hair accessories or designing the jewelry. A good day for me is producing at least three items. Now, all of this is interrupted by making lunch, cooking dinner and bedtime, so all times are approximate.

What advice or tips would you give to someone who wants to do what you do? To have a home-based business, you must be disciplined and have some time management skills. Also, you’ll have to put on many hats so seek out the knowledge or people that can make you look as good as possible.

Finish this sentence- this career is for you if___ You love fashion and daring designs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

